Other

Finished Project: Green Dotted Summer Dress

When I saw Lladybird’s pineapple-print version of McCall’s 6887 I immediately bought my very own copy of the pattern, picked out this fun green polka dot twill, and got to work. I had to have my own!

The dress turned out super comfy and cute. The twill is a stretch fabric which gives it extra ease when I’m wearing it, although it also makes the waist a bit less fitted so the dress benefits from being worn with a belt.

Photo Jul 13, 5 18 59 PM

Photo Jul 13, 5 15 54 PM (1)

I modified the upper back so that the buttons are just decorative – there’s no placket, it’s sewn shut. It’s not like I was planning to ever unbutton the back – I don’t think I could even button it myself.

The flower-shaped buttons make a nice, subtle accent.

The flower-shaped buttons make a nice, subtle accent.

Instead of lining it, I made self-fabric bias binding to finish the edges.

Instead of lining it, I made self-fabric bias binding to finish the edges.

Standard

One thought on “Finished Project: Green Dotted Summer Dress

Leave a comment