Finished Projects, Other

Finished: Chambray shirt dress

I have been really into chambray for the past few seasons, and a few months ago I decided I definitely wanted a gray chambray shirt dress in my wardrobe. I researched patterns and settled on the Rosa pattern by Tilly and the Buttons. I had a few fit issues with the pattern which I will discuss below, but after some effort I am quite happy with the finished product.

IMG_20170122_153601744.jpg

The main issue I had with this pattern was thhat it just has too much ease. I know it’s not supposed to be a form-fitting pattern, but I didn’t want to feel like I was wearing a sack, either. I cut a size based on the finished item  measurements (rather than the size chart measurements) and it still came out too large. I ended up taking in the seams quite a bit. I also shortened the hem significantly, because it hit below the knees which looked a bit frumpy on me.

Other than that, though, it was a pretty easy pattern to follow and execute. I used a cat-print corduroy as the inside of the collar stand, which makes a cute yet subtle touch.

IMG_20170122_154652973.jpg

It just so happens that the hat I am wearing in these photos is also a recent make. I’ve been on a hat making streak lately – I made two for my boyfriend Seth, one as a gift to my friend Brett, and another one as a comission for my friend Tessa. I also made myself one and I’m working on a third for my boyfriend right now.

IMG_20170122_154634666.jpg

Standard

Leave a comment