Finished Projects

Finished Project: Rugged Denim Jacket

When Chris requested a sherpa-lined denim jacket, I knew it would be a challenge, and I was even a little intimidated. It was for sure the most complex project I’d ever taken on. We carefully selected the fabrics, and I began with a mockup to make adjustments to the pattern before creating the real thing. When I began making it, I found that though it was time-consuming for sure, if I divided it up into small tasks and did just a little bit of research on technique, it was really not as difficult a project as I thought it would be. It took many hours to complete, but the final product came out just as we had envisioned.

img_20190126_162608

The outer is made from a medium-weight denim, with a tan twill yoke; the collar and body are lined with faux sherpa; and the sleeves are double-lined with a polyester lining. It has two sets of pockets – patch pockets in the front, and in-seam pockets on the sides. The buttons are brushed metal shank buttons. I used 7/8 inch buttons on the front, and 1/2 inch buttons for the sleeve vents.

img_20190126_162451

img_20190126_162807

I guess I’m probably a little bit biased here, but I sure think he looks handsome in his new jacket. He also tells me it’s toasty warm, which was the goal. We took the photos at Elizabeth Park, a beautiful place in Hartford with gardens, gazebos, and an overlook of the skyline.

img_20190126_162842

Back view

Standard

Leave a comment