Finished Projects

Finished Project: Buttoned Up Miniskirt

I had a little leftover denim from making Chris’  jacket last winter, so I threw together this skirt over the summer. I somehow never got around to wearing it, though, so I finally debuted it last night. It looked so cute with my turtleneck and tights.

image (1)image

As always, I included in-seam pockets, although in retrospect patch pockets might have been a better choice. The pockets are lined with a polka-dot polyester silk lining fabric. The pattern was self-drafted. There is no zipper – the buttons are real! I made a somewhat similar dress a few years back, but the buttons were fake and it had a back zipper; this time I was trying for a different look, and I think I achieved it with the real buttons.

image (2).jpg

Had to throw in this back view of me hanging out with my roommate’s foster cat, Sansa. She’s a sweet little cutie, plus you can see the polka-dot pocket lining in this shot.

On a related note, I have to give credit where credit is due. My roommate, Rae, put the fabric wallpaper up by using nothing but liquid starch, and they did an excellent job! What a cute print, and a great backdrop for my photos 🙂

Standard

Leave a comment